Rainy Day in Spring Lake Park

Spring Lake Park,  Rainy Day

Spring Lake, Sonoma County

The rain has returned.  A gentle rhythm of plink, plink beats as the drops fall upon the slick, black material of my clothing.  Swirls, rivulets and half moons of rainwater flow and reform as the water traverses under and around nature’s obstacles.

Puddles of water are filled with long, narrow, pink and gray earthworms flushed from their underground homes.  Some are unmoving.  Others inch along in single-minded fashion toward dry ground.  I watch as one exceptionally long, tubular earthworm struggles next to a tiny pink, coiled form.  Feeling like a benevolent giantess, I swallow my squeamishness and pluck the momma worm and her baby from sure disaster.  I gently place them on a relatively dry part of the gray concrete path.  I continue my walk down the shiny pavement studded with tiny reflective pools.

The rain falls harder now.  I approach two Canadian geese. It is pairing off season and the muscular male is very alert and protective of its smaller partner, as she daintily pecks at the fresh, wet grass.  The male barely tolerates my presence as I marvel at the tiny, glistening raindrops that teeter on his luxurious feathers.  He moves aggressively toward me and fixes me with a tiny, angry, black eye and hisses “back off, lady.”

I cross a small bridge and watch the raindrops from the pewter sky land like small explosions into the stream.  Each drop causes circular eruptions which merge into large Saturn-like rings. The watery teardrops drip from the trees, and glide into the creek like invading airmen in tiny parachutes.

A group of wild turkeys, clothed in blue, silver, and brown feathers with jaunty red wattles, run to and fro alongside a chain link fence worriedly looking for shelter.  They appear to be oblivious to the small trees with welcoming arms just feet away from them.

The small details in my rainy day walk mirror bigger concepts: how quickly disaster can strike us and end our lives, or randomly save us; the visceral need to protect our loved ones from perceived harm; the chaotic nature of life which is maneuvered successfully by knowing how to land.  Battered by worry and fear, we run to and fro, when peace is within.

I pause and stare at the dark sky as it weeps and continue on my way.

7 responses to “Rainy Day in Spring Lake Park

  1. Lovely article about Spring Lake Park during the recent rain. Although I was tucked warmly in my home, reading by the fire, I felt as if I had just been meandering along the trail as well!

  2. I like how the writer describes the subject
    so clearly that I felt as if I was on the rainy
    day walk with her. It makes me want to stop and smell the roses and to appreciate the small things in life like nature.
    She writes eloquently with a great sense of
    humor.

    Christina

  3. A very nice walk I had this morning, through the park in the rain. It was wonderful being out in nature, remaining warm and dry, not having to leave my cozy abode. The last paragraph of this delightful little story got me thinking about how we all need to be hyper vigilant about our safety while also enjoying the beauty and peace around us. It’s a tricky balance.

  4. Pingback: Canadian Geese at Ga. Visitor Center « RJB Weblog

Leave a Reply

