Park Bench Memorial to a Creative Life

ImageThe plaque says her name, but who is she?  The park bench reveals that she was greatly cherished.  Someone comes to this bench frequently and leaves mementoes of love. Tiny towers of pebbles are stacked on a nearby boulder to honor her. Small, smooth, silver, white, and brown stones are artfully placed on the weathered park bench to spell  “I love you.”  A bright yellow sunflower, framed by evergreen branches, is thoughtfully arranged, and carefully weighted with rocks to protect it from strong winds. The park bench with its brass plaque is a memorial to a woman departed.  The way the bench is creatively tended, with such love and devotion, is the woman’s legacy.

Memorial Bench

Arlyne Shepro
A Passion for Life...A Place to Rest

2 responses to “Park Bench Memorial to a Creative Life

  1. My sister & I met you at our mothers bench. Two days later you met my sister again at Montecito. I want to let you know how much this means to me. What you wrote about my mother is such an honor and beautifully written. Thank you.

  2. Andrea, thank you so much for responding. I hoped very much that you and Susan would like what I wrote. I told Susan I just had to write about your Mom’s bench and how you two love her. Donna

Leave a Reply

