Abstract Eye

Light of color

Light of color

Whenever I shoot images, I always have a number that are not the traditionally “pretty” pictures.  These images speak to me because of their forms, textures, angles or colors.  Abstract pictures are everywhere.  Look closely.  Don’t make judgments about what you see.  You may be the only one that ever saw this particular object in this particular way.

Image

Ron Bigelow who frequently writes about photography says that abstract photography doesn’t rely on image detail, so that when we view an abstract photo, our “reaction is more instinctual.”  I know what he means. Many of the abstract images I’ve photographed were shot intuitively. Whether it’s a pattern that repeats, or a color that pops, my eye is engaged and the shutter clicks.

Bigelow suggests that our responses to curves and shapes are  “…hard wired into the human perceptual system.”

Image

I love the symmetry of the above picture and the repetitive pattern of the round shapes.

Arabesque

Black and white squares, swirls, and shadows on a San Francisco street.

Pt. Bonita Bridge, Marin Headlands

Pt. Bonita Bridge, Marin Headlands

The lines of the bridge draw your eye to the woman at the end.

Lake Ladder

Lake Ladder

A different viewpoint or playing with shutter speed produces interesting results.

Dream Daisies

Dream Daisies

Double rows of cacti marching side by side coupled with their perfect roundness stopped me in my tracks.

Prickly

Prickly

Periodically, I’ll return to abstract images in my blog because they are my favorite to shoot.  Do you like abstract images?  Why or why not?  I’d love to hear your comments.

One response to “Abstract Eye

Leave a Reply

